Alicia Jay Blog PicWe have all tried it at least once or twice.  A scrunch of the sleeve here, wear it a little lower on the waist there and it will work right?  No!  We are not supposed to camouflage our clothes; we are supposed to WEAR them.                                        We have been going through this ‘clothing metamorphosis’ our entire lives.  At 6’6” I was always a head and shoulder above the rest and seemed to grow out of clothes before I even put them on.  My mother resigned to dressing me in ‘boy clothes’ because there was simply not enough girls clothing to keep up with my long frame.  In high school it got worse because everybody got trendy.  How was I supposed to find clothing that was in if I couldn’t even find clothes that would fit?  I basically wore basketball attire to school and sculpted my wardrobe into an athletic look which worked, but was not how I fully wanted to express my style.  I think I just heard all of you agreeing with me in unison. It wasn’t until college that I realized that there were options out there that not only fit, but also enabled me to show the world who Alicia Jay was.  My ankles and wrists were fully covered and I had a plethora of pant options without crotches that hit the floor. Side note: I never understood the whole cut the crotch long thing in the pants…are you kidding me?  They obviously never fit the pants on an actual tall woman.  Let’s just add some extra inches EVERYWHERE and it should be fine right!? What ridiculousness!  I can’t tell you how much the proper fit changed my life.  For example, the first time I put on a pair of women’s jeans in a 38” inseam, I cried like a little tall baby.  The fact that I could wear heels and the pants were STILL long enough merited an emotional response.  No more boxy men’s cut and no more waiting for a flood moments = fashion bliss.  This blissful moment had to be shared and is exactly one of the reasons why I started tallswag.com.  Ladies, if you haven’t experienced this, please do.  We all deserve to show off our shape, express our sense of fashion and strut our sexy, tall selves around in clothing that fits.  Thanks to retailers like the Method Boutique, we have more and more options arising every day.  It’s important to invest in tall pieces because it enhances the beautiful inches that God gave us.  We MUST dress our TallSWAG appropriately!

Alicia Jay  tallswag.com

